Wednesday, May 13, 2015

The newest recipients of the Dr. Ed O'Connor Scholarship

We are pleased to introduce the latest recipients of the prestigious Dr. Ed O'Connor Scholarship. Each of the five deserving students has been awarded a substantial scholarship that is renewable for up to four consecutive years of undergraduate study at StFX.

Please join us in congratulating:

  • Anica Bistretzan
  • Mackenzie Chaisson
  • Rachel Hawkins
  • Rebecca Mesay
  • Benton von Muehldorfer

About the Dr. Ed O'Connor Scholarship

The Dr. Ed O'Connor Scholarship was established in 1974 by Alberta alumni of St. Francis Xavier University. Its purpose is to encourage outstanding Alberta high school graduates to attend StFX University in Antigonish, Nova Scotia. One of Dr. O'Connor's mantras was Community service or volunteering is the price you pay for the space you occupy! He was greatly involved in Calgary community affairs. In recognition of his business and community involvement, Dr. Ed O'Connor received an honorary doctorate from StFX. The honour was bestowed in 1974.

Hail and Health,

Oliver Munar '98
President, Dr. Ed O'Connor Scholarship Society